Questions fréquentes

  1. Est-ce que l’angiœdème est une maladie, un trouble ou un état?
    L’angiœdème héréditaire ou AOH est techniquement une maladie, « un état pathologique… qui nuit au fonctionnement normal et qui se manifeste par des signes et symptômes typiques », selon le Merriam-Webster (2011). Les termes, “trouble” et “état” sont souvent utilisés de façon interchangeable pour évoquer la maladie, probablement parce qu’on évite ainsi d’y associer une connotation négative que le mot « maladie » laisse entendre. Sans doute, la plupart des gens ne veulent pas être catégorisés comme étant atteints d’une “maladie”, aussi, on tend plutôt à parler d‘état ou de trouble.
  2. Est-ce qu’on peut guérir de l’angiœdème héréditaire?
    L’angiœdème héréditaire est causé par une déficience génétique et, en conséquence, sa guérison supposerait un recours à la technologie génétique. Bien qu’à l’heure actuelle il soit incurable, des traitements sont possibles. Au Canada, on a recours à une thérapie de substitution de l’inhibiteur de la C1 estérase induite par le remplacement de la protéine absente ou déficiente, responsable des crises récurrentes d’enflure (Bowen, 2010; Bowen et al., 2010). D’autres traitements non spécifiques à l’angiœdème héréditaire ont par ailleurs bien réussi, notamment, l’administration d’androgènes ou d’agents antifibrinolytiques (Agostoni et al., 2004; Bowen et al., 2010).
  3. Comme l’angiœdème héréditaire est un trouble sanguin, pourquoi me réfère-t-on à un immunologue et non à un hématologue?
    L’angiœdème héréditaire est à la fois un trouble sanguin et un trouble immunologique, car la protéine déficiente, l’inhibiteur de la C1 estérase est une protéine de plasma qui régule une partie du système immunitaire. Le trouble affecte les systèmes de complément et de contact de la réponse immunitaire et la protéine affectée dans le cas de l’angiœdème héréditaire est un inhibiteur de ces systèmes. La protéine de l’inhibiteur C1 estérase est un enzyme utilisé par le corps pour bloquer la réponse immunitaire, ce qui provoque l’enflure (Agostoni et al., 2004; Ritchie, 2003). Les patients atteints d’AOH peuvent être suivis soit par des immunologues soit des hématologues, or la plupart sont référés à des immunologues.
  4. Quel est le niveau de gravité de l’angiœdème héréditaire?
    Les crises d’angiœdème héréditaire peuvent varier de légères à potentiellement mortelles si elles surviennent dans les voies aériennes. Les crises d’enflure dans le visage, le cou, la langue et la gorge sont considérées comme graves et peuvent requérir une intervention médicale d’urgence (Bork & Ressel, 2003; Farkas, 2010) telle que la pose d’un tube respiratoire placé dans la gorge et même directement dans la trachée. Une douleur abdominale intense peut causer un trouble fonctionnel important, mais elle n‘est pas potentiellement mortelle. Quant à l’œdème des extrémités, il a une incidence importante sur la qualité de vie des patients car il peut causer des déformations et être douloureux (Zuraw, 2003).
  5. Qu’est-ce qui cause une crise d’AOH? Quels sont les éléments déclencheurs?
    Une crise d’AOH survient quand la demande pour l’inhibiteur C1 estérase excède la quantité disponible de C1 estérase fonctionnelle dans le corps. La C1 estérase est comme une clé qui bloque la réponse immunitaire (dans les systèmes de complément et de contact). En conséquence, une déficience de la C1 estérase fonctionnelle signifie que cette protéine est en quantité insuffisante pour bloquer la réponse immunitaire, ce qui provoque une augmentation des taux de bradykinine. Comme la bradykinine augmente la perméabilité vasculaire, les fluides continuent à s’infiltrer dans les tissus avoisinants causant l’enflure ou l’œdème (Gower et al., 2011; Zuraw, 2003). Les personnes atteintes d’angiœdème héréditaire doivent connaître les facteurs susceptibles de déclencher une crise ou d’augmenter les risques de survenue, notamment, dans les cas de stress, de maladie ou d’infection, de blessure, de grossesse, de menstruations, de certains médicaments (par ex., des contraceptifs oraux et des inhibiteurs de l’enzyme de conversion), et de soins dentaires (Bowen et al., 2003).
  6. J’ai entendu dire qu’il y avait différents types d’AOH. Quels sont-ils et en quoi diffèrent-ils? Requièrent-ils tous le même traitement?
    Il y a trois types d’angiœdème héréditaire :
  • a) Type I – Un taux diminué de la protéine C1 inhibitrice fonctionnelle – le type le plus courant
  • b) Type II – Taux normal de la protéine C1 inhibitrice dysfonctionnelle
  • c) Type III – Taux normal de la protéine C1 inhibitrice fonctionnelle – dépendance à l’œstrogène

L’angiœdème acquis (AOA) est aussi documenté dans la littérature médicale, sans toutefois être associé aux antécédents familiaux. L’angiœdème induit par un médicament constitue un autre type d’angiœdème qui est documenté et qui est associé aux médicaments tels que des inhibiteurs de l’enzyme de conversion (Bowen et al., 2010).
Aucun n’est héréditaire. Pour connaître les options de traitement, veuillez consulter les sites : www.aacijournal.com/content/6/1/20 et aacijournal.com/content/6/1/24.
Seuls votre spécialiste et vous-mêmes êtes en mesure de déterminer le traitement qui vous convient le mieux.

  • Comment savoir si je suis atteint de l’angiœdème héréditaire?
    La première étape serait de voir votre médecin de famille, puis d’être référé à un spécialiste qui traite l’angiœdème héréditaire. Les tests requis pour poser un diagnostic comprennent les taux de C4 et de C1-INH (protéine du C1 inhibiteur) (Bowen et al., 2010).
  • Y a-t-il des signes précurseurs d’une crise qui m’aideront à savoir si une crise se prépare?
    Si vous avez vécu avec des enflures répétées qui durent un certain temps, vous avez peut-être remarqué certains symptômes typiques avant une crise. Ils varient selon les personnes et peuvent aussi varier selon les crises chez un même individu. Dagen & Craig (2010) ont noté que « les symptômes prodromiques identifiables les plus courants comprennent notamment une fatigue inhabituelle, une éruption cutanée sur les bras ou les jambes et des douleurs musculaires » (p. 3). L’éruption cutanée qui se manifeste avec l’AOH est l’érythème marginé; il ne provoque pas de démangeaisons et n’est pas saillant (Gower et al., 2011). Des fourmillements dans la zone susceptible d’enflure est un autre symptôme prodromique courant identifié (Frank, 2008; Gower et al., 2011). Des maux de tête, un inconfort abdominal (Gibbs & Craig, 2007) et même une certaine irritabilité (Farkas et al., 2001 ) sont d’autres signes annonciateurs observés avant une crise d’AOH.
  • Si je suis atteint d’angiœdème héréditaire, est-ce que je peux toujours faire de l’exercice et travailler? Est-ce que je devrais suivre un régime alimentaire particulier?
    Ce sont des questions dont vous devriez discuter avec votre médecin spécialiste de la gestion de l’AOH. Cependant, l’angiœdème héréditaire peut avoir une incidence importante sur la qualité de vie. Pendant une crise et pendant les jours qui suivent, les patients atteints d’AOH héréditaire sont souvent incapables de vaquer à leurs occupations quotidiennes normales à cause de la douleur, de la fatigue et des déformations associées à l’œdème. Une crise d’AOH peut considérablement interférer avec les activités des patients (Longhurst et al., 2010). À notre connaissance, il n’y a pas d’étude qui démontre un lien entre la nutrition et les crises d’angiœdème héréditaires.
  • Est-ce que l’AOH affecte la grossesse?
    L’angiœdème héréditaire est exacerbé chez de nombreuses personnes qui ont des taux élevés d’œstrogènes (Binkley & Davis III, 2003; Bouillet, 2010). On a observé que certaines personnes développent des symptômes d’œdème pendant la grossesse, lors de la prise de contraceptifs ou au cours d’un traitement hormonal substitutif (Binkley & Davis III, 2003). L’association entre l’œstrogène et les crises d’angiœdème est bien documentée dans la littérature médicale. De nombreuses femmes atteintes d’angiœdème héréditaire sont considérées comme sensibles à l’œstrogène et en conséquence expérimentent une augmentation de la fréquence des crises pendant la grossesse. L’utilisation d’un substitut de l’inhibiteur C1 estérase est indiquée pour le traitement et la prophylaxie des crises d’AOH pendant la grossesse (Czaller et al., 2010; Hermans, 2007). D’autres traitements utilisés pour traiter l’AOH sont contre-indiqués pendant la grossesse à cause du risque d’effets fâcheux sur le fœtus ou l’augmentation du risque de caillots chez la mère (Gorman, 2008).
  • Comment l’AOH est-il transmis? Vais-je le transmettre à mes enfants?
    L’AOH est une maladie autosomique dominante, ce qui signifie qu’il suffit qu’un seul des deux parents soit atteint d’AOH pour qu’il soit transmis à ses enfants. Selon ce qu’on entend par dominance autosomique, l’enfant d’un parent atteint d’AOH court 50 % de risques d’être atteint.
  • Où puis-je trouver un spécialiste qui connaît bien l’AOH?
    Il est primordial de trouver un spécialiste qui connaît bien l’angiœdème héréditaire. Veuillez, S.V.P., vous référer à la liste du site www.haecanada.com, site Web d’un groupe de physiciens avec qui nos patients ont développé un partenariat.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Is hereditary angioedema a disease, a disorder, or a condition?
    Hereditary angioedema or HAE, is technically a disease, “a condition … that impairs normal functioning and is typically manifested by distinguishing signs and symptoms (Merriam-Webster, 2011). The terms, disorder and condition, are often used interchangeably for disease, most likely because they do not have the negative connotations associated with them that the word, “disease”, has. Presumably, most people do not want to be labelled as having a “disease” and so condition or disorder are used instead.
  2. Can hereditary angioedema be cured?
    Hereditary angioedema is caused by a genetic defect and, therefore, cure would involve use of genetic technology. At this time, there is no cure, but there is certainly treatment. In Canada, C1 esterase inhibitor replacement therapy is used, which involves replacing the protein whose absence or deficiency of is responsible for repeated swelling attacks (Bowen, 2010; Bowen et al., 2010).  Other treatments, while not specific to hereditary angioedema, have been successful; these include attenuated androgens and antifibrinolytic agents (Agostoni et al., 2004; Bowen et al., 2010)
  3. If hereditary angioedema is a blood disorder, why was I referred to an immunologist and not a hematologist?
    Hereditary angioedema is both a blood disorder and an immunologic disorder in that the deficient protein (C1 esterase inhibitor) is part of the blood and this protein regulates part of the immune system. The disorder involves the complement and contact systems of the immune response and the protein affected in hereditary angioedema is an inhibitor of these systems. C1 esterase inhibitor protein is an enzyme that is used by the body to shut down the immune response, which is responsible for the swelling (Agostoni et al., 2004; Ritchie, 2003). HAE patients can be followed by either immunologists or hematologists, but most tend to be referred to immunologists.
  4. How serious is hereditary angioedema?
    Hereditary angioedema attacks can range from mild to life threatening if they involve the airway. Swelling attacks involving the face, neck, tongue, and throat are considered serious and could potentially lead to a medical emergency (Bork & Ressel, 2003; Farkas, 2010) requiring a breathing tube to be placed down the throat or even directly into the trachea (or windpipe). Although not life threatening, severe abdominal pain can be debilitating and edema of the extremities can also be painful and disfiguring, causing the patient’s quality of life to be adversely affected (Zuraw, 2003).
  5. What causes an HAE attack? What are the triggers?
    An HAE attack occurs when the demand for C1 esterase inhibitor exceeds the amount of available functional C1 esterase in the body.  C1 esterase is like a key that turns off the immune response (in the complement and contact systems). Therefore, deficiency in functional C1 esterase means that there will not be enough of this protein available to turn off this immune response, leading to increased bradykinin levels. Since bradykinin increases vascular permeability, fluid continues to leak into the surrounding tissues, causing the swelling or edema (Gower et al., 2011; Zuraw, 2003).People with hereditary angioedema need to be aware of factors that may trigger or increase the likelihood of an attack; these include stress, illness or infection, injury, pregnancy, menstruation, some drugs (eg. oral contraceptives; angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitors), and dental procedures (Bowen et al., 2003).
  6.  I’ve heard that there are different types of HAE. What are they and how are they different? Are they all treated the same?
    There are three types of hereditary angioedema:
  1. Type I – Low C1 inhibitor protein level and function – most common type.
  2. Type II – Normal C1 inhibitor protein level, but abnormal function.
  3. Type III – Normal C1 inhibitor protein level and function – estrogen dependent.

Acquired angioedema (AAE) is also documented in the literature, but is not associated with family history. Drug-induced angioedema is another angioedema type found in the literature, associated with such drugs as angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitors (Bowen et al., 2010).

Neither of these are hereditary.For treatment options, please see www.aacijournal.com/content/6/1/20 and aacijournal.com/content/6/1/24.

The best treatment for you will be determined between you and your specialist.

  • How do I find out if I have hereditary angioedema?
    The first step would be to see your family doctor and then be referred on to a specialist who deals with hereditary angioedema. Diagnostic tests include C4 and C1-INH (C1-inhibitor protein) levels (Bowen et al., 2010).
  • Are there any warning signs that will tell me I am going to have an attack?
    If you have lived with repeated swellings for any length of time, you may or may not have noticed symptoms that typically occur before an attack. These are varied between individuals and may even vary between different swelling attacks in the same individual. Dagen & Craig (2010) documented that “the most common identifiable prodromal symptoms include unusual fatigue, rash on arms or legs and muscle aches” (p. 3).  The rash that occurs with HAE is erythema marginatum; it is not itchy and not raised (Gower et al., 2011). Tingling in the area that is about to swell is also another commonly noted prodrome (Frank, 2008; Gower et al., 2011). Headache, abdominal discomfort (Gibbs & Craig, 2007) and even irritability (Farkas et al., 2001 ) are other symptoms reported to signal the onset of an HAE attack.
  • If I have hereditary angioedema, can I still exercise and work? Should I be on a special diet?
    These are questions that you should discuss with your doctor who specializes in the management of HAE. However, hereditary angioedema can impact considerably on quality of life. During an attack and for days subsequent to an attack, patients with hereditary angioedema may be unable to partake in their normal daily activities due to the pain, fatigue, and disfigurement associated with the edema. HAE attacks can considerably interfere with work or other activities that patients are involved with (Longhurst et al., 2010). There have been no studies found that document any relationship between diet and hereditary angioedema attacks.
  • Will HAE affect pregnancy?
    Hereditary angieodema has been found to be exacerbated in many individuals in association with increased estrogen levels (Binkley & Davis III, 2003; Bouillet, 2010). Some individuals have been found to only have symptoms of edema during pregnancy, oral contraceptives, or estrogen-replacement therapy (Binkley & Davis III, 2003). Also well documented in the literature is the association between estrogen and angioedema attacks. Many people with hereditary angioedema are considered to be estrogen sensitive and therefore have increased attack frequency during pregnancy.The use of C1 esterase inhibitor replacement is indicated for treatment and prophylaxis of HAE attacks in pregnancy (Czaller et al., 2010; Hermans, 2007). Other treatments that are used to treat HAE are contraindicated in pregnancy due to either the risk for untoward effects on the fetus or the increased risk of blood clots in the mother (Gorman, 2008).
  • How is HAE inherited? Will I pass HAE on to my children?
    HAE presents in an autosomal dominant pattern, which means that only one parent needs to have HAE to pass it on to the children. By definition of autosomal dominance, there is a 50% chance that a child of a parent with HAE will be affected.
  • Where can I find a specialist who is familiar with HAE?
    Finding a specialist who is familiar with hereditary angioedema is important. Please refer to the list at www.haecanada.com.  This is the website of the physician group our patient group partners with.

 

Reference List

Agostoni, A., Aygoren-Pursun, E., Binkley, K. E., Blanch, A., Bork, K., Bouillet, L., et al. (2004). Hereditary and acquired angioedema: Problems and progress: Proceedings of the third C1 esterase inhibitor deficiency workshop and beyond. The Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, 114(3), S51-S131.

Binkley, K. E., & Davis III, A. E. (2003). Estrogen-dependent inherited angioedema. Transfusion and Apheresis Science, 29, 215-219.

Bork, K., & Ressel, N. (2003). Sudden upper airway obstruction in patients with hereditary angioedema. Transfusion and Apheresis Science, 29, 235-238.

Bouillet, L. (2010). Hereditary angioedema in women. Allergy, Asthma & Clinical Immunology, 6(17). Retrieved October 13, 2011, from www.aacijournal.com/content/6/1/17

Bowen, T. (2010).  Hereditary angioedema: beyond international consensus – circa December 2010 – The Canadian Society of Allergy and Immunology Dr. David McCourtie Lecture. Allergy, Asthma & Clinical Immunology, 7(1). Retrieved October 13, 2011, from www.aacijournal.com/content/7/1/1

Bowen, T., Cicardi, M., Farkas, H., Bork, K., Longhurst, H. J., Zuraw, B., et al. (2010). 2010 international consensus algorithm for the diagnosis, therapy and management of hereditary angioedema, Allergy, Asthma & Clinical Immunology, 6(24). Retrieved October 13, 2011, from www.aacijournal.com/content/6/1/24

Czaller, I., Visy, B., Csulka, D., Fust, G., Toth, F., & Farkas, H. (2010). The natural history of hereditary angioedema and the impact of treatment with human C1-inhibitor concentrate during pregnancy: a long-term survey. European Journal of Obstretics & Gynecology and Reproductive Biology, 152(1), 44-49.

Dagen, C., & Craig, T. J. (2011). Treatment of hereditary angioedema: items that need to be addressed in practice parameter. Allergy, Asthma & Clincial Immunology, 6(11). Retrieved October 13, 2011, from www.aacijournal.com/content/6/1/11

Farkas, H. (2010). Management of upper airway edema caused by hereditary angioedema. Allergy, Asthma & Clinical Immunology, 6(19). Retrieved October 13, 2011, from www.aacijournal.com/content/6/1/19

Farkas, H., Harmat, G., Fay, A., Fekete, B. Karadi, I., Visy, B., et al. (2001). Erythema marginatum preceding an acute oedematous attack of hereditary angioeneurotic oedema. Acta Derm Venereol, 81(5), 376-377.

Gibbs, J. G., & Craig, T. J. (2007). Prodromal symptoms before exacerbations of hereditary angioedema. Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, 119(1), S278. Retrieved October 13, 2011, from download.journals.elsevierhealth.com/pdfs/journals/0091-6749/PIIS009167490802798X.pdf

Gorman, P. J. (2008). Hereditary angioedema and pregnancy: A successful outcome using C1 esterase inhibitor concentrate. Official Publication of the College of Family Physicians of Canada, 54(3), 365-366.

Gower, R. G., Busse, P. J., Aygoren-Pursun, E., Barakat, A. J., Caballero, T., Davis-Lorton, M., et al. (2011). Hereditary angioedema caused by C1-esterase inhibitor deficiency: A literature-based analysis and cliknical commentary on prophylaxis treatment strategies. World Allergy Organization Journal, 4(2), S9-S21. Retrieved June 24, 2015, from http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3666183/

Hermans, C. (2007). Successful management with C1-inhibitor concentrate of hereditary angioedema attacks during two successive pregnancies: a case report. Archives of Gynecology and Obstetrics, 276(3), 271-276.

Longhurst, H. J., Farkas, H., Craig, T., Aygoren-Pursun, E., Bethune, C., Bjorkander, J., et al. (2010). HAE international home therapy consensus document. Allergy, Asthma & Clinical Immunology, 6(22). Retrieved October 13, 2011, from www.aacijournal.com/content/6/1/22

Merriam-Webster (2011). Retrieved October 13, 2011 from www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/disease

Ritchie, B. (2003). Protease inhibitors in the treatment of hereditary angioedema. Transfusion and Apheresis Science, 29, 259-267.

Zuraw, B. L. (2003). Diagnosis and management of hereditary angioedema: an American approach. Transfusion and Apheresis Science, 29, 239-245.